St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

HB 490 - St. Mary's County - Competitive Bidding - Threshold

SUPPORT

February 4, 2025

The Honorable Marc Korman, Chairman Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 490 - St. Mary's County - Competitive Bidding - Threshold

Dear Chairman Korman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County <u>SUPPORT</u> House Bill 490 - St. Mary's County - Competitive Bidding - Threshold which is being heard in the Environment and Transportation Committee.

Local Government § 12-301 is a statute that prescribes certain competitive bidding requirements for counties following the traditional commissioner form of local government. Our County Attorney's Office's research indicates the procurement limits set forth in this statute have not been updated in decades. Given the considerable span of time since the limit was established and potential uncertainty of the meaning of "competitive bidding process," we seek this change to ensure that this statute gives St. Mary's County the flexibility to adopt, if it chooses, future procurement policies that will better ensure fast, cost-effective procurement of goods and services necessary for county government in the modern day.

We request a favorable report on House Bill 490. We support the introduction of this legislation and believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

ann A. Fry

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/014 Cc: Senator Jack Bailey
Delegate Matthew Morgan

Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator

Buffy Giddens, County Attorney

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney